Today I decided to explore the city. Fortuitously, I'm based in Downtown (enter high pitched singing of Macklemore "DOWNTOWN") and it only took 45 minutes to walk in. It's crazy to think this city is the oil and gas capital of Canada and yet you can basically walk across it in a few hours. So similar to Aberdeen in that respect, but this city has massive sky scrapers and a decent public transport system.
I'm not sure what it is but this place is actually full of culture. So many public parks, mixed with structures and monuments, not to mention the building architecture. Loving it here.
I headed first to the Calgary tower, possibly the most iconic building in the city (below) and I wanted to get photos from up at the top, especially looking out over the mountains.
Unfortunately it seemed to be closed, or at least I couldn't work out how to get in, so I wasn't able to go on up and get the sick "Pano" I wanted. Never one to let these things ruin my day, I wondered around until I found a "Mall". In doing so, I snapped some pictures of the surrounding buildings. Like I said, there seems to be such an awesome mix of different architecture and public monuments/ art work.
On my walk home I happened across "that one neighbour that likes Halloween a little too much". All the neighbourhoods are getting ready and I must admit, I starting to feel it too. It's actually nice to see people digging the holiday spirit. Back in the UK there seems to be such an emphasis on Christmas with it being celebrated and prepped earlier and earlier each year, there is no room for this holiday in the British calendar. As for me, tomorrow we're pumpkin carving and decorating the house for the lil bastards to trick or treat us. I've never truly understood how this works... surely the person in the house should say Trick or Treat?? Not the kid that walks up to the door. Bit presumptuous if you ask me.













