This week has been a fantastic one for skiing. Successfully hitting all the local "Big 3" resorts. Those being Lake Louise, Sunshine and Norquay. It's safe to say I've come on leaps and bounds with my skiing, which genuinely feels great. Confidence is slowly growing due to being pushed to my limits by the guys and gals. Smashing it down double black diamond runs.. yep when I say smashing I literally mean smashing... my ski came out as soon as I dropped in and I ingested most of the mountain, hence being covered in powder. But the smile on my face says it all. Such fantastic conditions. I've skied everything from groomed pistes to fresh, meter deep, powder. Running off piste and going through trees, carefully I might add. I still have so much to learn but it feels great to be able to go down a moguled black run without hesitation. It also helps that I have now increased my dins on my bindings to the appropriate level for my weight.. hence the skis coming off. Tit!!
In addition to this, and to anyone that knows me, it's fair to say I'm pretty competitive. So when these two cool cats rock up and and are the only other skiers in our group, and are kicking my butt down the hill.. I have to turn it up a notch. Safe to say I've got a long way to go but it's a blast. Steph (blonde) and Faye (brown) have been skiing since they were young and I'm not ashamed to be beaten by these chicks. God they're quick!!
One of the best attractions locally are the hot springs. All natural so you get the waft of sulphur.. mixed with a wee bit of chlorine for good measure. This place is actually incredible and the best way to recover the tired legs from skiing. It was snowing when we went, and with 40oC water, it makes for a fairly majestic setting when looking over the mountains. Will definitely be hitting this place up on a regular basis.
Afterwards, we kinda missed the bus so ended up stopping off at the local 5 star hotel.. dried our sloggies on the fire and sipped G&Ts.. to which the aussies among us were impressed with the Hendricks and Cucumber.. with the obvious splash of Fevertree.. So good!

For the rest of the time, we've been attending the weekly wine wednesdays.. always a good night locally leaving a whole town a little worse for wares on thursdays. Having said that, Sunday Funday as well as, well, most nights thinking about it leaves most of the local residents with a sore head. Pictures below of Adam, trying to sit on Santa's lap are an example of some of the "hilarities" that ensue following half price vino.

Then there was the skiing at Norquay, with my fellow ski bum Dan (Danny Wade - Best Boarder on the mountain). This was just brilliant. Sitting lower than the other two resorts, it struggles for the snow, but a fresh dump of the white stuff meant there were a couple of really fun runs. Ducking under the ropes to hit the closed areas was so fun. Reminder to self, don't boast of doing so to ski patrol, they weren't impressed. Oops. Was worth it though.
Dan and I both agreed the best way to explain Norquay is that it's just very pleasant. So quaint. It's size meant we completed it in a few hours, setting us up well for our own little Apres session. 5 pints later we were well and truly pickled to everyone's amusement when we got back to the hostel.
In addition to all the skiing and fun i'm having I suppose there has to be a little of the culture and cuisine of Canada. I mean, this blog wouldn't be anything without the occasional mention of some of the canadian sugary treats that give it it's name.. so after much anticipation here's Chicken and waffles.. yep as a lover of the Chicken Nug, I couldn't give this a miss. Fried chicken, on a waffle, drizzle in copious amounts of syrup. YAAAAS!
As for culture, it's widely known the Canadians are essentially born with skates on their lil old feet. So it's of no surprise that when they started watering the park, to which Adam mentioned they were stupid because "don't they know that'll just freeze". Hand to forehead.. yeah mate, that's the point. HA. So it was great to see all the local children out practicing their ice hockey skills. This is actually something I really want to give a go. Looks so fun.
So now, I'll leave all of you in piece to enjoy the Christmas period and New Year. Plans are to go skiing in the morning and then cook up a storm for the gang at the hostel. I'm on potatoe duty so best not ruin them or there will be hell to pay.
Merry Christmas everyone! x






















