So it’s that old question, what do I want to achieve from this experience?
Certainly not another 40hr working week on minimum wage. So after some a short but interesting experience working on the mountain, I handed my notice in. Yep, I lasted a whole two weeks. Ha. Full credit to the lads up there but my god I was not enjoying that job. I was told I’d get to ski on ride breaks and after two weeks I managed to go on one ride break. Yep, it’s not why I went up there. So I’m a full time ski bum again and a happy one.
However, looking back, there were a few good things. The lads I worked with were hilarious. The people up there were genuinely great and I got to drive skidoos, sometimes all the way down the mountain. Actually this was so fun, and something not everyone can say they get to do.
But let's focus on some of the more important things. What are the highlights of this week, outside of working in a warehouse? Well, our 4th amigo has returned. Adam, the youngest of our room, and our very own Joey Essex, had to unfortunately head home for a week for his Grandmothers funeral. But on his return he has brought a number of treats, most importantly, Adam’s mother purchased some heal cream for me.. questionably possibly his now late grandmothers. But it could be his other “Nan’s”.. either way, it’s working a treat. Cheers Mum, Cheers Nan.
In addition to this, something else that has given me great pleasure was getting back on the slopes. I can't tell you enough how happy this has made me. Being injured and out of the loop has really tested my patience. We headed to a new area, Lake Louise. This is possibly my new favourite place, certainly my go to weekend ski destination.
The runs are crazy long and for some reason, very European. Yes the pictures I have put up are from the post on FB and Insta, but they highlight how pumped I was. Whilst it has only just started to dump some serious powder Lake Louise was great, if not hilarious for the random icy patches that catch Boarders out and create what can only be described as bomb-burst.
As for the unexpected visitors, well, the other night at 4am two armed police officers entered and searched our room, guns drawn, proceeded to shine torches into our faces, asking if we were on our phones and were we called Michael? Sleepy responses was pretty obvious it wasn’t one of us. Dan didn’t even wake up.. just groggily answered, “I’m Dan”. He thought it was part of his dream. All I can remember was the two officers coming in and my first response was to ask, "how can I help you gents?" Typically British. As for my friend Michael, who just happened to be on his phone, questionably watching cartoons at his age, and at silly o’clock. Well he’s very lucky the officers were so calm.
It turns out, someone had called the front desk of the hostel saying they had guns and a bomb. They had hacked the hotel cameras and had a voice changing box thing. All rather sophisticated for a prank. Full credit to the police though. Very professional.
So what else has happened??
A train turned up with a lot of lights on, it crosses all of Canada. Basically the coca cola truck but on rails. A band plays Christmas songs and there is free hot chocolate. Probably the biggest thing to happen to Banff all year. Was actually pretty cool and certainly got me in the spirit of things. Which reminds me, I need to finish writing my Christmas cards and send them.. Canada has a postal strike and this could cause chaos.
And other than that, the gang I’ve made here are lovely. We go out to various bars and pubs. Last night was a music bingo where they play music and you have to cross off the songs on the sheet. Things managed to get a but rowdy and whilst casually queuing at the bar a guy randomly started punching me in my face. I mean, normally I deserve this sort of thing and never get punched for making a comment or doing something stupid but when you are just there minding your own business it’s not fun. Luckily I just grabbed his hands once I realised what was happening and took the first few punches like a champ. Sort of ruined the end of what was a very fun night listening to various absolute bangers from the past few decades and drinking with friends. Never did find out what the guys problem was.
The below photos are of work (never to be again) and Dan, Steph, “Joey” and Amy. It took me a while to realise the reason behind Dan’s creepiness.. he’s tweaking Joey’s jumper. Which also reminds me, time to visit the thrift shop and get myself a horrible Christmas jumper.
![]() |
| Some lovely spots at Sunshine. Looking forward to skiing here more now. |
![]() |
| Hench Truck F350 on tracks. Never got to drive this but it was pretty cool.. but only used for rubbish. |
![]() |
| Shot overlooking Sunshine village at the top. |
Until the next update.






No comments:
Post a Comment